Bramwell Tovey


From someone extremely well known to me, we turn now to someone whom I had never heard of… Bramwell Tovey! Tovey (b. 1953) is a Grammy and Juno award winning Canadian composer whose commissions include works for the New York Philharmonic, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the Toronto Symphony, and the Canadian Brass. He is the director of the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra. He is also a film composer, writing the original score to the Canadian movie Eighteen. Tovey was also Artistic Director of the National Youth Brass Band of Great Britain, and has worked closely with the Fodens Brass Band. His concert work for brass includes the following:

 Pictures in the Smoke – for brass band

 Coventry Variations – for brass

 Santa Barbara Sonata – for brass quintet

 The Bardfield Ayre – for brass band

 Manhattan Music – for brass quintet and orchestra

 Echoes of Jericho – for brass and percussion

 Requiem for a Charred Skull – for choir and brass band

 The Night to Sing – for brass band

 Nine Daies Wonder – for brass band and violin

 Urban Cabaret – for solo trombone, brass, and percussion

Santa Barbara Sonata was written in 2004 for the Canadian Brass and is “a sonata in four movements, each associated with an aspect of Santa Barbara, California in the summer months (when the Music Academy of the West is in session). Movements include: Cakewalk on a Tightrope, Preacher on the Pier, Magic Horn Tango and State Street Stomp.”

Here is a clip of the first movement:

Santa Barbara mvm1 excerpt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


HTML tags are not allowed.